Not Your Usual Paris Recommendation

Paris is a beautiful city filled with so much history and architecture to admire. From the Eiffel Tower to Arc de Triumpe, practically every corner of Paris makes for the perfect photo shoot opportunity. However, there’s more to Paris than just it’s obvious landmarks. Parisians are known for their effortless beauty and fashion and that’s why City Pharma is a must-see, especially for beauty-enthusiasts. City Pharma is Paris’s biggest pharmacy full of health and beauty products and is located in the 6th arrondissement. If one were to Google “French beauty,” it is almost certain that magazine articles, blogs and YouTube videos will mention going to City Pharma to attain the best beauty products at the lowest of prices.

I actually learned about City Pharma from watching the beauty series on Vogue’s YouTube channel. The beauty series features many models, actresses, and influencers sharing their beauty secrets. And of those people, what the French had in common was their love and pride for City Pharma. What I have learned from these videos is that the French really care about their skin, and not necessarily the make-up that goes on top of it. I struggle with acne from time to time and I am by no means good at applying make-up, so the idea of “French beauty” intrigued me. Before I left for Paris, I had researched the French’s favorite beauty products and created a shopping list. Some of the products on my shopping list included; Bioderma Crealine, Klorane Dry Shampoo, Embryolisse, and Créaline H2O by Bioderma.

Once in Paris, I actually came across City Pharma on accident while walking with the class to a cafe. The green and red square logo of City Pharma stood out like a shiny beacon guiding my way to all that is right in this world. From my research, I heard it was a huge and busy store, and from the looks of it, I knew my research was correct. I also heard that sometimes the checkout lines could be up to 30 minutes long! This is a pharmacy we are talking about! I just had to see what all the buzz was about.

So the next day, I decided to venture into City Pharma. They had security checking bags at the door and walking around the pharmacy. Pharmacists, mainly female, in long white lab coats also patrolled the halls, offering assistance to their many customers. I so desperately wanted to ask the pharmacists for guidance on what products to buy, but my lack of French limited me. Therefore, I had no choice but to stick with the shopping list I had previously created.

As for the layout of the pharmacy, it was broken up into different sections. One section consisted of beauty products, such as moisturizers and face wash, and the other sections included toiletries, protein powder, vitamins, etc. The beauty products section was concentrated with people while the aisles of the other sections in City Pharma were practically empty. In the beauty product section, “pardons” and “excusez-mois” were being said at a continuous rate. Employees were stocking the shelves with products as fast as men and women were taking them down. I wanted to grab all the products everyone was grabbing, and I would have if I had endless funds in my bank account. I ended up leaving with just Bioderma Micellar Water and Embroylisse, which from my research, seemed to be the most raved products on all review sites.

I was so eager to use the products when I got home. Usually taking off my makeup is the last thing I want to do after a long day, but knowing all I had to do was pour a little bit of the Bioderma Micellar Water on a cotton pad and wipe my face had me beaming with excitement! The whole process of removing my makeup and moisturizing my face with my new products seemed like a start to a new beautiful ritual. And indeed, my face did seem to be glowing afterwards. I now understand the French’s fascination with their pharmacy products.

Fortunately, you don’t have to go to France to get these products, at least the products I bought. I was able to find them on Amazon, but for double the price. So with that said, if you are in Paris, I do recommend stocking up and braving the crowd at City Pharma.

Leave a Reply

